The Big C

A journey through Stage Four Cancer

The High Cost of Cancer

on November 4, 2012

This will be a quick update.  It shouldn’t be a surprise to learn that my cancer is once again active.  There is a study going on that my doctor thought I would benefit from, but  unfortunately, my i’s weren’t dotted and my t’s crossed in time, and I missed out on being a participant.

Plan two, a new medicine has been approved for use in the United States and my doctor thought that I might benefit from that.  It would be two pills at breakfast for two weeks, so 28 pills.

I dropped the perscription off at the drugstore and was told that since it was a new medicine, it might be a while before it was able to be filled.

Surprisingly, I got a call from the pharmacy soon after I dropped off the prescription telling me that my insurance had covered the medicine and my co-pay would be $2,800.  I was in shock and was mentally resigning myself to the idea that I would not be taking this particular med and that the doctor would have to go back to the drawing board on method of attack on this onslaught of cancer.

The woman at the other end of the phone call agreed that the co-pay was high, and gave me a number to call that might be able to get me financial help.  I called the number, and was connected with another nice woman.  She asked me a few brief questions on our family size and income and a fax number to fax the first two pages of our last year’s tax return.

A few days after that, I received a call that told me that I had been approved for financial assistance. Remember what I wrote a few blogs back?  Be careful that the wolf you think is at your door is actually a wolf and not a rambunctious Labrador Retriever.

4 responses to “The High Cost of Cancer

  1. Janel says:

    I was so happy to read that you will receive financial assistance for this new medication!!! I’m sorry you missed out on the study, but maybe it was meant for you to take this new medication instead. I will continue to keep you in my prayers!!! I’m glad you gave us an update…I have been thinking of you!!! God Bless you!!! 🙂
    Janel in NJ

    • The Big C says:

      Thank you so much Janel!!! I know you have so much to think about in NJ after super storm Sandy, so that you remembering me makes me feel soooo good!!!!

      My blog: Marynate.blogspot.com. Please visit!

  2. This is one thing that makes me happy of my life in Italy, where cancer treatments are totally free

  3. The Big C says:

    I hope you never have to use them! What an obbnoxious disease!

Leave a Reply

