The Big C

A journey through Stage Four Cancer

Lyanna

on June 28, 2012

It’s really funny that someone is so very important in my life, and I don’t know how to spell her name, may-be because I never had to write her name, just say it.  Is it Louanna or Luanna?

Potato, potahto.  Lyanna is the nurse who always takes care of me when I go to the cancer center for treatment.  She is young, capable, quick.  She knows what the routine is, and she gets it done. She is no nonsense, and yet she is kind and compassionate.  The times I’ve been overwhelmed and teary, she has given me comfort and a hug.

I was thinking of her the other night when I couldn’t sleep.  Lyanna has been in the Peace Corps and she has gone to foreign countries on some of her vacations lately, to bring medical care to third world people who wouldn’t get medical care otherwise.  Although she is always professional, she still empathizes with us.

Lyanna

Will of  iron

strength of steel

heart  of gold

competent, quick, sure

knows procedure

gets it done

Her patients are hers alone

laughs, comforts, hugs

Amazon warrior

who would fight encroaching tumors

bare fisted

if it were only possible

Lyanna

Leave a Reply

