The Big C

A journey through Stage Four Cancer

Deficiency of the English Language

on May 19, 2012

My friend Sherri is a blogger.  She writes “My Messy Mind.”  She doesn’t have cancer, but she has had her own health stalker.

She has just recently had some nice things happen in her life.  She is newly married.  Her husband just accepted a new job, so they are moving to a new community.  And they have just bought a new trailer for them to live in.  The trailer is gorgeous, just simply gorgeous!! It has a kitchen to die for, a fireplace, is bright and airy.  I just love it!!!

If you read my other blog, Mary Bennett, you will know that I have been dying to buy a “house on wheels.”  It has been my desire since the early 1980’s.

I am so thrilled for Sherri.  I am happy for her.

Now this is where the English language proves it deficiency:  what is the word for being happy that someone has something that you’ve wanted, wanting them to retain that object, and wishing that you would have one too?

I can’t think of a word for this emotion.  Words like jealous or envious convey negative emotions.  It infers that you are angry for their good fortune, and that you deserve it more than they do.

That is NOT the way that I feel.

Any suggestions for a correct English word for how I am feeling?

3 responses to “Deficiency of the English Language

  1. Janel says:

    I am in “awe” of someone having something that I would like but not jealous of them. I didn’t always feel this way…but I find the older I get (51 next month) I feel genuinely happy when good things happen to someone I know. At this time in my life, I feel happy that God had provided me with what I need and if He wants me to have something, He will provide a way for me to have it…if not, then I try to think of it as something God doens’t want me to have at this time…but maybe in the future. Hope I didn’t ramble too much 🙂 Hope you’re feeling well 🙂

  2. Janel says:

    sorry…I meant to say doesn’t not doens’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

