The Big C

A journey through Stage Four Cancer

The last months

on September 9, 2011

have been trying, to say the least.

I have gone bald, needed a wheelchair, been in the hospital more times than I’d like to remember, been in pain.

I also now have hair shorter than I have ever dared before cancer, seen my family rise to the challenges, met nurses that should be award winners, and ….

I AM NOT IN PAIN ANYMORE!!!

My last CAT scan shows that my tumors have not grown, and might actually have shrunk.  I’ll have another CAT scan at the end of October to see if the tumors continue to shrink.  I will be without chemo for three months by then, that’s a quarter of a year!  If the tumors don’t grow, then it’s off to the surgeon to get them removed, and my second fight with cancer will be over!!!

I am not strong, but I am getting stronger.  For short hops, I don’t need a wheel chair.  I can go up and down stairs without someone having to spot me in case I fall.  I have had enough energy that I am able to stand long enough to cook a real dinner for my family.

During this time, I need to rest, and to get stronger.  Statistics say that my third, and hopefully last battle with cancer will follow, but this time I won’t be blind sided.  I will be strong and ready.

With determination, preparation and prayer, I’ll be ready for round three!

One response to “The last months

  1. sherri says:

    absolutely amazing Mary!! I have been praying for you, and thinking of you daily. Wondering how you have been doing… and now you have some good news! the power of prayer, poisonous drugs, and family…. I will continue to pray and pray for you…. and no more pain… oh what a blessing that is!

Leave a Reply

