The Big C

A journey through Stage Four Cancer

Can I catch a break, puhlease?

on June 25, 2011

 

             I am waiting for the results on a biopsy on my tumor, and while I’m waiting, I’m having a break from chemotherapy and you would think, a break from thinking about cancer.

             Uh, no.  That is not what is happening.

          First, I need to have my port needle changed every week.  This week, the port decided to be troublesome and my home nurse couldn’t insert a new needle, even though she tried, twice.  Off to the Cancer Center 60 miles away to get the achey area poked with a needle, one more time.

           The next day, my husband had to set up my home hydration.

          The day after that, I had to call the Cancer Center to have a prescription filled.  There was a problem with the size of the pill.  The one they ordered is too big for me to swallow, even if it is snapped in half.  I’d have to take too many of the pill in the size I can handle, every day.  The answer is a vile tasting liquid.  Three phone calls to get this settled.

          Friday, I got a sore throat and I began to worry.  Is this sore throat going to turn into pneumonia and a trip into the hospital?  Can it be just a cold?  Please?  (and it was.)

           So you see, there hasn’t been a break from cancer, but it gets worse.  Have you noticed the American Cancer Society Commercials with Ricky Martin beating on a tom tom?  Or the pink ribbon labels on yoghurt?  Or the almost constant commercials for the Susan Kommen Walk for the cure?  Or the Cancer Treatment Centers?  Or that now it seems like every hospital in my television viewing area  has a Cancer Center?

I turn on the television to relax and get bombarded with reminders of cancer.

Can I catch a little break here, please?

4 responses to “Can I catch a break, puhlease?

  1. I wish I could give you a break.

  2. Lily says:

    Ah, Sweet Mary, switch to DVDs. No cancer ads. I have a whole bunch of DVDs I would lend you. I can be your own personal (and FREE) netflix. 😀 And, as always, you have my prayers to cheer you through. God bless you, my friend.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Wish I were closer, we could hang out and watch silly DVDs and forget for a while!!
    Love ya!
    Jen

  4. sherri says:

    i wish you could a break from the cancer too… awful to be constantly reminded of the horrid stuff… as the others have said… dvd’s, movies, books, music…. i don’t know…. keeping you and your family in my prayers as always….

Leave a Reply

