The Big C

A journey through Stage Four Cancer

The Second Dream

on January 5, 2011

As I posted a few blogs entries back, my cancer is back and that is what makes these two dreams sooo weird.  I had them before I found out that I have cancer again.

So here is my second dream.  I am in a room that is empty.  I can’t see him, but I know that satan has just entered the room with me.  I feel terror, and I start to say the prayer to Saint Michael the archangel, but I can’t.

He tries to sound soothing and pleasant at the same time.  “I’m going to tell you something that you want to know.  The day you are going to die from cancer.”

For a Catholic, this is one of the biggest no-no’s in the book.  First to have any contact or conversation with satan.  Second, to go to anyone to find out what the future hold.

I try harder to say the prayer to Saint Michael, but my mouth can not make a sound.

A big appointment calender in blue ink appears before my eyes.  The year is 2012.

I am able to catch some breath and I start at a mumble  “SAINT MICHAEL THE ARCHANGEL…”

It’s as if satan knows that I am being freed and he must move fast.  The calender is quickly flipped to the month of September.  I refuse to look at the day as I scream out “DEFEND ME IN BATTLE! BE MY SAFEGUARD……”

Which is when my husband hears my screaming and shakes me awake.

The dream stays with me, as much as I want to shake it off.

A day ago was the dream of my being dead, and yet wandering among my family, unseen, unheard, not being able to touch.  This night I have the cause of my death, and the almost exact date.

At this point, to the best of my knowledge, I don’t even have cancer.  I am in remission.

And yet, cancer is my cause of death in less than 24 months.  Not even the whole five years that most stage 4 colon cancer victims get.

No wonder my thoughts are dark.  And you can see why I wasn’t sure if I should post or not.

*********************************************************************

Michael the Archangel is the head of the “heavenly host.”  He is mentioned in both the old and new Testament.  He is the patron of Israel.

His name is a question, but also the challenge to the renegade angel, turned head demon, Lucifer (bearer of light) “Mi cha EL?!!” or “Who is like GOD?!!”

The answer, no one.

In Catholic tradition, history and lore, Pope Leo XIII, while serving mass was given a vision in which satan asks for, and receives a time when he can in a major way torture and trounce mankind.  Because of that vision, which so horrified Leo XIII that as he had the vision, the other priests thought he had died, Leo XIII wrote the prayer to Saint Michael the Archangel.  Before the reforms of Vatican II, the Prayer to Saint Michael the Archangel was said after every mass.  In traditional Catholic churches, it still is.

There is a shorter prayer to Saint Michael the Archangel, that I use frequently.  When I encounter a “mean” situation, or a “mean” person, or even when I wake up feeling like I’d like to kick the dog (which is an expression of meanness, not an actual activity.  I love my dog!), I say the short prayer to Saint Michael the Archangel and the situation is either relieved, or at least, doesn’t get worse.

I also say a Saint Michael the Archangel prayer every day for my country and for my Catholic Church.  I love both dearly, but I will admit there are people in both who don’t follow the rules for being a good American in case one, and a good Catholic in case two.  They are being influenced, either knowingly or because they have scales before their eyes that need to be removed.

I would love to see what the whole world would be like, if for one day, each and every person said the short Saint Michael prayer once.

This is the short form:  St Michael the Archangel, defend me (us) in battle.  Be our safeguard against the snares and deceptions of the devil.  May God rebuke him, we humbly pray.  And may you, the prince of the heavenly host, through the power of God, thrust into hell satan and his cohort, so they can no longer wander the earth for the damnation of souls.

This is the long version given to us by Pope Leo the XIII (and it is long, but read through it, it will chill you to your bones.  It is remarkable that he lived through that vision, esp since he was already an old man):

O Glorious Archangel St. Michael, Prince of the heavenly host, be our defense in the terrible warfare which we carry on against principalities and powers, against the rulers of this world of darkness, and spirits of evil.

Come to the aid of man, whom God created immortal, made in His own image and likeness, and redeemed at a great price from the tyranny of the devil. Fight this day the battle of the Lord, together with the holy angels, as already thou hast fought the leader of the proud angels, Lucifer, and his apostate host, who were powerless to resist Thee, nor was there place for them any longer in heaven. That cruel, that ancient serpent, who is called the devil or Satan, who seduces the whole world, was cast into the abyss with his angels.

Behold, this primeval enemy and slayer of men has taken courage. Transformed into an angel of light, he wanders about with all the multitude of wicked spirits, invading the earth in order to blot out the name of God and of His Christ, to seize upon, slay and cast into eternal perdition souls destined for the crown of eternal glory. This wicked dragon pours out, as a most impure flood, the venom of his malice on men; his depraved mind, corrupt heart, his spirit of
lying, impiety, blasphemy, his pestilential breath of impurity and of every vice and iniquity. These most crafty enemies have filled and inebriated with gall and bitterness the Church, the Spouse of the
Immaculate Lamb, and have laid impious hands on her most sacred possessions. In the Holy Place itself, where has been set up the See of the most holy Peter and the Chair of Truth for the light of the world, they have raised the throne of their abominable impiety, with the iniquitous design that when the Pastor has been struck, the sheep may be scattered.

Arise then, O invincible Prince, bring help against the attacks of the lost spirits to the people of God, and give them the victory. They venerate Thee as their protector and patron; in Thee Holy Church glories as her defense against the malicious power of hell; to
Thee has God entrusted the souls of men to be established in heavenly beatitude. Oh, pray to the God of peace that He may put Satan under our feet, so far conquered that he may no longer be able to hold men in captivity and harm the Church. Offer our prayers in the sight of the Most High, so that they may quickly conciliate the mercies of the Lord; and beating down the dragon, the ancient serpent who is the devil and Satan, do Thou again make him captive in the abyss, that he may no longer seduce the nations. Amen.

V. Behold the Cross of the Lord; be scattered, hostile powers.
R. The Lion of the tribe of Judah has conquered, the root of David.
V. Let Thy mercies be upon us, O Lord
R. As we have hoped in Thee.
V. O Lord, hear my prayer.
R. And let my cry come unto Thee

LET US PRAY
God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, we call upon Thy holy name, and we humbly implore Thy clemency, that by the intercession of Mary, ever Virgin Immaculate and our Mother, and of the glorious Archangel St. Michael, Thou wouldst deign to help us
against Satan and all other unclean spirits, who wander about the world for the injury of the human race and the ruin of souls.
Amen.

Pope Leo XIII, 1888
Raccolta 1933 (Partial Indulgence)

* Principalities and Powers are two classes of both angels and demons.  In this case, or course it is demons, not angels.  Saint Paul in the New Testament warns us that we fight not against flesh and blood, but principalities and powers. Ephesians6-12

Leave a Reply

