The Big C

A journey through Stage Four Cancer

Refining Silver

on September 16, 2010

A friend just e-mailed me this.  I found that I could identify this so much with having cancer.  I hope that you enjoy:

The woman was silent for a moment. Then she asked the silversmith, ‘How do you know  when the silver is fully refined?’
 
He smiled at her and answered, ‘ Oh, that’s easy — when I see my image in it.’  
 
This is so much like having cancer.  We are the silver that is being refined.  God is the refiner.  While we are in the hotest part of the fire, God is holding us up, supporting us.  He is sitting right in front of us, watching us, never leaving our side.
And when He can see His image in us, He removes us from the fire.  He doesn’t allow us to stay in the fire one second longer than is needed.
I pray, that when I am once again in that fire, I never once forget that God is there, never leaving my side, watching me.
I hope you have found a blessing in this post.
4 responses to “Refining Silver

  1. I enjoyed that too. I can relate to the fact that we are never alone, gor God is always right there with us.

  2. lily says:

    I like this imagery. Great thoughts. How are you doing?

  3. Mary says:

    Going to the Dr the first of October. I’ll know then how I’m doing. But with no knowledge of my medical condition at the moment, I feel fine! Getting things done. I just got most of my “chemo hair” cut off, so my hair is slowly going back to normal. Of course, it’s short, short, short now, but at least it sin’t a curly cloud around my head! 🙂

  4. Angela says:

    And when He can see His image in us, He removes us from the fire. He doesn’t allow us to stay in the fire one second longer than is needed.

    I’ve read this before, but I have to share, the part above, brings tears to my eyes…

    Lily joined me this Fearless Friday and shared at her blog for us to head over here to let you know your surrounded by MANY of us praying for you ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

